Hockey Team Rankings

Rating of national hockey teams is formed at the end of each World Cup. The rating takes into account all the matches played by the team, and for each game there are a certain number of points. The Russian team took the leading position in it in 2008 and since then has not given up its positions, despite the fact that in the last World Championship it took only 4 place, conceding 7 goals in the fight for the bronze.

Contents: 10. Team of Slovakia

  • 9. National team of Norway
  • 8. National team of Germany
  • 7. National team of Switzerland
  • 6. National team of
  • 5. Czech Republic
  • 4. National team of Canada
  • 3. National team of Sweden
  • 2. National team of Finland
  • 1Russian national team
  • 10. Slovak national team

    Coach: Vladimir Vuytek

    After the collapse of Czechoslovakia, the Slovak national team was formed, which made it to the top division in 1996.In 2000, the team first reached the World Cup final, but lost to their former compatriots - the Czech national team. In 2002, the team won the championship, playing the final match with the Russian team, and a year later took bronze medals. At the Olympics in Vancouver, the team took the 4th place, which is their best performance at the Olympic Games.

    9. Norwegian national team

    Coach: Roy Johansen

    First came to the World Cup rather late - in 1937.The first matches were held with deadly defeats, than remembered and the teams and fans. But in 2005, tired of endless defeats, sharply began to break out into the elite. Thus, the team, known for the loudest defeat with a score of 20: 1, is the biggest victory in history - 25: 1.The team twice took third place in the World Cup, but could not make it to the finals.

    8. German national team

    Coach: Jakob Kölliker

    The national team made its debut in 1910, after which it became very popular in the capital of hockey and before the Second World War the German clubs were leading in this sport, in 1910 having finished second in the European championship,success in the next four years. In 1930, the team first became the champion of Europe, and two years later received bronze at the Olympics. After the division of Germany, no single team has made significant progress. After the unification, the best result was the 4th place in 2010 at the World Championships.

    7. Swiss national team

    Coach: Sean Simpson

    Founded in 1908, and already in 1926 became the champion of Europe. The team took almost 10 years to make it to the World Cup final, but in 1935 it earned silver. The last major achievement of the team was bronze at the World Cup in 1953, and after that only the 4th place in 1998.

    6. Team USA

    Coach: Brian Burke

    Debuted only in 1920, and for a long time did not show particularly impressive results. But in 1980 there was "the greatest victory of American sports" - the US team won the USSR national team, at that time the absolute favorite, on the way to Olympic gold. Then, in 1996 - the winners of the World Cup, in 2002 and 2010 - the finalists of the Olympics.

    5. Czech Republic

    Coach: Alois Ghadamchik

    Officially, it was formed in 1993, after the dissolution of Czechoslovakia, but is the successor to the Czechoslovak national team and all its merits. To date, the team is part of the famous "big hockey sevens" and is a six-time world champion( excluding the merits of the Czechoslovak team) - in 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2010, and finalists in 2005, and four timesowners of bronze.

    4. National Team of Canada

    Coach: Ken Hitchcock

    43 years, since 1920, Canada was represented by amateur clubs and before entering the USSR hockey arena, teams that played for Canada had 15 gold medals from 18 world championships. The first game the new team played in 1964 at the Olympics, which took fourth place, the whole team has 7 gold Olympic medals, 4 - silver, 2 - bronze. Over the past twenty years, the national team of Canada 5 times became world champions, 7 times - finalists, and 4 times bronze medalists.

    3. Team Sweden

    Coach: Per Morts

    Included in the "Great Hockey Seven", played the first match in 1920, and in the same year at the Olympics took the 4th place. After 8 years, the team won silver medals at the Olympics, and in 1953 received their first gold - at the World Championships. Today they are two-time champions of the Olympic Games, and eight-time World Championships: in 1953, 1957, 1962, 1987, 1991, 1992, 1998, 2006.

    2. Finland national team

    Coach: Jukka Yalonen

    Was collected for the first time in 1928, and for a long time in the World Championships and Olympiads took 5-7 places without rising, but without losing ground. But since 1992, the team confidently went to the finals 6 times at the World Championships, and in 1995 took gold. Also, the Finnish team twice took silver at the Olympic Games - in 1988 and 2006.

    1. Russian national team

    Coach: Zinetula Bilyaletdinov

    Despite the uncertain performance at the world championship, the Russian team continues to lead in the rating of the IIHF hockey teams. Officially was collected in 1992, becoming the legal successor of the USSR, so immediately got the right to speak in the group of the strongest. Almost immediately - in 1993 I proved that I did not lose my strength with the collapse of the country, becoming world champions. In total, they took gold three times at the World Championships - in 1993, 2008 and 2009, twice - silver, and also twice - bronze. The best result at the Olympics is silver in 1998.

    Author: Alena Kashtanova